Skip to main content

Morgenlander, Swisher, Colton, and Liedtke recognized for achievements

Friday, March 17, 2017

With new awards, award nominations, leadership roles within the Department, and lectures being delivered literally half-way around the world, it’s been a whirlwind week for faculty in the Duke Neurology Department. Congratulations to Joel Morgenlander, MD, Christa Swisher, MD, Wolfgang Liedtke, MD, PhD, and Carol Colton, PhD, for their following recent achievements!

Joel Morgenlander, MD, along with Kenneth Lyles, MD (Department of Medicine, Geriatrics) received the  2017 Leonard Palumbo Jr., MD Faculty Achievement Award, which honors faculty members who display both a dedication to compassionate patient care and excellence in the teaching and mentoring of young physicians. “Congratulations to Joel on this award,” said Department Chair Rich O’Brien, MD, PhD. “It’s a well-deserved and long overdue recognition of his excellence in all areas.” Morgenlander will receive the award at the annual Spring Faculty Meeting on Monday, May 8.

Congratulations are also in order to Christa Swisher, MD, who has been named Associate Program Director for the Neurocritical Care Fellowship. As a graduate of the program herself, Swisher brings first-hand knowledge of the program to this new role. “I forward to working with Keith Dombrowski, the Program Director for the Neurocritical Care Fellowship,” Swisher said.  “I’m also passionate about improving the educational experience of our fellows, recruiting the highest caliber neurology graduates from the country, and mentoring our residents and fellows through this exciting and challenging time in their training.”

Carol Colton, PhD, will headline the American Society of Neurochemistry’s annual meeting in Little Rock, Arkansas, with the delivery of the presidential lecture, “Immunosuppression regulates amino acid metabolism in the brain: Implications for Alzheimer's disease.” Colton will then travel to Singapore to discuss the same topic for the Duke NUS Medical School.

Wolfgang Liedtke, MD, PhD, was nominated for the 2017 Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award, which recognizes compassion and sensitivity in the delivery of healthcare. As part of his nomination, Liedtke will be recognized along with Morgenlander at the 2017 Spring Faculty Meeting on May 8. “Congratulations on being nominated for this prestigious award and best wishes for your continued success!,” wrote Ann Brown, MD, MHS, Vice Dean for Faculty, to Liedtke of the award.