Department of Neurology Appointments, Promotion, and Tenure Committee

The Department Committee on Appointments, Promotion, and Tenure (DAPT Committee) is a standing committee consisting of Tenure Track, and Career Track Faculty in the Department of Neurology, with all members at the rank of Associate Professor or *full* Professor. Terms for membership are for a minimum of 5 years. In addition, 2 ad hoc (non-voting) members are invited for a term of 2 years to view the committee proceedings.

The purpose for the DAPT Committee is to review, and advise faculty members on promotion, and tenure cases, and on appointments in cases where consultation is needed. The DAPT Committee coordinates discussion of appointment, promotion, and tenure procedures, and expectations across the academic divisions, and with administration. This includes appointments at the rank of Associate Professor, and Professor. Appointments at Assistant Professor are brought to the DAPT Committee for information purposes. Promotions to Assistant Professor from within the Department are reviewed, and voted on by the Committee.

The DAPT Committee is guided by the Policies of the Board of Trustees of Duke University.

Meetings

Regular meetings of the DAPT Committee take place on a quarterly basis, with exact dates determined by the availability of the committee members (typically held in March, June, September, and December).

Voting

Decisions of the DAPT are determined by a majority vote (quorum).

- a. A majority of voting members must be present at the meeting (quorum) to call for a vote.
- b. At least 5 regular members that are able to vote on all issues must be present.
- c. For a vote to be carried, there must be a majority of votes in the affirmation (excluding abstentions), with a minimum of 4 affirmative votes. Absentee voting via ballot, or email is permitted, but the meeting must still have a majority of voting members in attendance, for a vote to be called. In order for the vote to carry forward, those present must vote in the affirmative (excluding abstentions), with a minimum of 4 affirmative votes.
- d. Proxy voting is not allowed.

Membership

APT Chair

Daniel Laskowitz, MD, MHS Professor of Neurology

Wayne Feng, MD Donald Sanders, MD Professor of Neurology Professor of Neurology

Vern Juel, MD Aatif Husain, MBBS
Professor of Neurology Professor of Neurology

Joel Morgenlander,MD Ornit Chiba-Falek, PhD Professor of Neurology Professor of Neurology

Janice Massey, MD Christopher Eckstein, MD

Professor of Neurology Associate Professor of Neurology

Rodney Radtke, MD

Professor of Neurology

Cherylee Chang, MD

Professor of Neurology

James Burke, MD Sneha Mantri, MD

Professor of Neurology Assistant Professor of Neurology – Ex- Officio Member

Rick Bedlack, MD, PhD Carlene Moore, PhD

Professor of Neurology Assistant Professor of Neurology – Ex-Officio Member